Updating Results

University of Southern Queensland (USQ)

  • 12% international / 88% domestic

Chloe Kirkwood

I graduated 6+ years ago and I was working fulltime as a Team Leader within the finance industry.

What did you study at the undergraduate level and when did you graduate? What are you studying now? Are you studying and working at the same time?

Hi, my name is Chloe and I'm an HR Consultant. I studied an undergraduate degree 'Bachelor of Human Services' and I majored in Human Resource Management and Psychology. I graduated 6+ years ago and I was working fulltime as a Team Leader within the finance industry when I completed my degree.

What have been the most important stages of your life?

The most important stages of my life have been my tertiary education combined with on the job experience. I have been presented with numerous opportunities to learn firsthand and this has been invaluable. In addition, experiencing different sectors of work (finance, government, retail) has built a wealth of knowledge and I have gained a broad understanding of how organisations operate.

How did you get to your current (or most recent) job position and how long have you been working there?

I have worked across multiple government roles (contract and permanent) and within the private sector. Each role has been held for several years and I am currently working on a contractor basis.

What made you decide to progress with further study?

I progressed with the further study as I believe if it necessary in this day and age to acquire tertiary skills. I felt compelled to study at university to achieve specialist skills within human resource management. I also realised that there was never going to be a good time to study, and bit the bullet to simultaneously study while at full-time work.

How did you choose your particular further study course (compared to others)? / Were you weighing up any alternative degrees or career pathways before choosing this qualification?

I initially started studying at the University of QLD (UQ) however it was not flexible enough for my needs. At UQ only offered face to face tuition, I looked at my options available at the University of Southern QLD (USQ) and chose their flexible, online study options. I then chose a course from their selection that would line up with my career pathway in human resource management.

What was the process to get accepted into your course? What were the prerequisites?

My course in Human Services was fairly open, and it was not difficult to get accepted. I wrote a supporting letter, provided my CV and references from the government department that I was working for. I also put together a portfolio of work and my assessment and grades from the previous university. I was then accepted within several weeks.

What does your study involve? Can you describe a typical day? (if it’s difficult to describe a typical day, tell us about the last thing you worked on?)

My study involved a lot of evening work and online Skype sessions. A typical day would involve going to my paid work and then coming home, logging online and completing a module. I planned my week so that I would undertake one module a night, leaving two nights off per week. Often I would study from 6pm-midnight and complete assessments of a weekend. It was difficult as I was working fulltime, however, good planning was the key to my success.

Will this course be beneficial in your career? Where could you or others in your position go from here? Please explain your answer.

I have benefited from studying this course and feel that my skills have been formalised. I plan to go further in my career by seeking specialist IR/ER roles and this course has contributed to valuable education and skills necessary for the future. I am thankful that I chose to study early on, and be equipped for this industry.

What do you love the most about your course? 

I absolutely loved the flexibility and the knowledge that the tutors brought to the course and the University of Southern QLD. I was impressed that the lecturers had been facilitating the course for a number of years, and I learnt a lot from their experiences. I also appreciated the coursework setup and modules.

What are the limitations of your course?

There were a few limitations of my course at the University of Queensland, primarily the lack of flexibility. I needed a course that allowed me to plan and study at a time that suited me. Often, the tutorials that I wanted would book out in seconds and this was disappointing which is one of the primary reasons for moving tertiary institutions. 

Which three pieces of advice would you give to a current undergraduate student? They don’t necessarily have to be related to your studies, or even to one’s professional life.

I would firstly suggest looking at the course content and planning all assessment on a calendar. This is vital for success, as missing a due date can be detrimental in the long run. Secondly, have fun and meet other students to build a community as this will help you to stay motivated. Thirdly, have a go! The assessors will mark all assessment and give valuable feedback.